Salsify satisfy

This weekend I ate a lot of hotel and restaurant food and wanted to end my Sunday with a simple and light vegetable dish. I chose a veg I have never cooked myself before as main ingredient: salsify aka oyster plant.

20121007-234121.jpg
I cooked them as instructed by the lady I bought them from; tricolore style with broccoli, parsley and cherry tomatoes.
First I had to wash and peel the salsify. This is best done with glove as the juice from the salsify is really sticky and leaves unsightly stains on your hands.

20121007-234525.jpg
The salsify pieces are best kept in a bowl of water with a dash of lemons otherwise they turn brown.

20121007-234648.jpg
I boiled the salsify in vegetable broth for 15 minutes then added the broccoli. Once they both were cooked (after a further 10 minutes) I strained the veg and put them back in the pot with the tomatoes and some lard.

20121007-235000.jpg

20121007-235007.jpg
Just before plating up I added a handful of chopped parsley and seasoned the veg with salt and pepper.

20121007-235118.jpg
A tricolourific dish that would go well with a piece of meat or fish alike. And it is delicious on its own as well. Salsify satisfy!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

