Burrata

Every once in a while a product surfaces that is hyped to death. To me Burrata is one of them. It has been talked about a lot recently and when it was on sale at my local supermarket today I thought I’d give it a try.

20120825-231353.jpg
I researched Burrata a little and apparently it is best served with a little olive oil, sea salt and pepper. I added cucumber and tomato and a dash of balsamic vinegar.

20120825-231557.jpg

20120825-231614.jpg
It tasted okay but I don’t really see what all the fuss is about. It was not that different from mozzarella.
I also made figs wrapped in parma ham. A tasty favourite of mine. I simply criss cross the figs, stuff some goat’s cheese in the middle, add a tiny drizzle of honey and then wrap each fig in a slice of parma ham.

20120825-232305.jpg
After 10 minutes at 180C the figs were cooked to perfection.

20120825-232420.jpg

20120825-232442.jpg
Fantastic! I will do the figs again anytime. Not too sure about the burrata…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

