Danish meat sauce

This post is half a day late because I was immersed in the Euro 12 football matches yesterday. The Danes were battling Portugal and then Germany chased the Dutch across the field.
I wanted to cook a recipe from
one of these countries and in a ‘Danes in Germany’-forum I found a recipe for pork filet in mustard sauce.
My supermarket did not have organic free range pork filet so I used cut up pork.

20120614-083108.jpg
I covered the pork in flour seasoned with salt and pepper and fried it in a pan in a little olive oil.
When it was nicely browned on all sides I put it aside and fried 250gmushrooms, 2 onions and 1 clove of garlic in a little olive oil as well.

20120614-083406.jpg
To the mushrooms I then added 1 cup of water and 2 generous tablespoons of mustard. I used my home made mustard, of course!

20120614-083655.jpg
At this stage the recipe tells you to add 1 cup of double cream cheese. I swapped it for 1 cup of heavy cream.

20120614-083831.jpg
Then I put the meat back into the sauce, seasoned it with tarragon and more pepper and cooked it for further 10 minutes. I served it with rice and broccoli.

20120614-083955.jpg
It is a very nice dish even though it is your old mushroom cream sauce and meat combo. The mustard definitely adds a nice touch to the sauce and next time I’ll add a bit more than only 2 tablespoons.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

