Once in a blue moon

I love Van Morrison and I love the song Once in a Blue Moon. And it’s true, ‘once in a blue moon something good comes along’. In my case in the shape of a truly fantastic cookbook: Hand Made by Yvette van Boven. Her recipe for cinnamon buns was great and now I hope the one for duck ham turns out as great, too.
Just two weeks ago after watching Antonio Carluccio and Gennaro Contaldo make Bresaola I told my boyfriend that I’d love to make my own ham as well. And along came Home Made with the recipe for duck ‘ham’.
Buying a duck breast turned out to be a bit of a chore in itself. My usual food source only sold Hungarian duck and the label did not contain any information as to the breeding/rearing method of the duck. I read somewhere that duck meat from Hungary often comes from animals that have been force fed for duck liver production. I definitely did not want to buy meat from a force fed duck. So I looked for a butcher shop to sell me an organically and ethically grown duck. I found one. Although all I can do is rely on the information provided by the butcher.
My duck breast ready, I filled salt in a dish.

20120522-204304.jpg
I cut the fat of the duck in criss cross cuts and spread the rind of 1 orange on top.

20120522-204424.jpg

20120522-204439.jpg

20120522-204458.jpg
I placed the duck in the dish with salt and added more salt on top until it was fully covered.

20120522-204754.jpg

20120522-204810.jpg
All that was left to do was put another dish with weights on top of the duck.

20120522-204959.jpg
Now the duck will hopefully ‘hamify’ while sitting in the fridge for 2 days.

One thought on “Once in a blue moon

  1. Pingback: Quak Quak à l’orange | recipes365

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

