Nastrovje Rhubarb revisited

On March 29th I drowned some rhubarb in vodka for my Nastrovje Rhubarb blog post.
Now, six weeks later I brought the rhubarb back to light from the darkest and coldest corner of my (tiny) kitchen.
What once looked like this:

20120514-230108.jpg
Today looked like something that could easily sit on a shelf in an anatomy museum next to a chopped off hand in preservation fluid…

20120514-230409.jpg
When I opened the jar a lovely smell of boozy sweet rhubarb ascended. I drained the liquid, threw away the rhubarb and bottled the rhubarb schnaps.

20120514-230528.jpg

20120514-230545.jpg

20120514-230604.jpg
I tasted the bit that was left over and I am not sure how long the bottles will keep. It tastes fantastic!

20120514-230753.jpg
Now I have to think of ways to use it in recipes or mixed drinks. I think I’ll try a Rhubagne (rhubarb & champagne, copyrighted and trademarked by me!) or a There’s the Rhub cocktail (still to be invented but the name has already been copyrighted and trademarked by me!).

2 thoughts on “Nastrovje Rhubarb revisited

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

