White Nougat The Sequel (or Bloody Nougat)

Yesterday’s recipe did not work out as planned. Instead of nougat I got nougat mousse or sauce. I did not want to simply chuck it out and so I attempted to salvage the nougat or turn it into something edible.
So I banged half of it in the oven at 100 degrees Celsius and after 4 (four !) hours the top was less foamy and solid enough that touching it wouldn’t leave a moussy fingerprint.

20120417-220816.jpg
I even managed to cut it into pieces but the underside was still not firm enough. So I put the pieces back in the oven and hopefully they turn into proper nougat soon.

20120417-221304.jpg
I experimented with the rest and had the brilliant idea to make nougat ice cream. I added 200g crème fraîche to the nougat and put it in the ice cream maker.

20120417-221602.jpg

20120417-221626.jpg
Well, nothing happened and that bloody nougat did not freeze. Even after 2 hours in the fridge it has not gone solid.

20120417-221734.jpg
And after googling ‘freezing honey’ I learned that honey stays liquid when frozen. That’s likely to be the problem here. I’ll check out the freezer again tomorrow and hope for the best.
Update 1: ice cream? shmice cream! Cold sauce more like.
Update 2: FINALLY I managed to make some nougat bars. But the way to get there was definitely not worth it.

20120418-071206.jpg
If you want to make your own nougat, look for another recipe!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

