Retro dish

My macaron kit still hasn’t arrived… So I cooked a pasta casserole that is typically Swiss yesterday: Hörnliauflauf.
Hörnli are small tube-like pasta pieces. In Italian they are called cornetti.


Oven baked casseroles are probably a bit out of style these days and I only made it because my brother who was over for dinner asked me to.
You can easily prepare the dish in the morning and keep it in the fridge. My recipe is from Betty Bossi with some extra vegetables thrown in.
First cook 300g Hörnli pasta for about half the time that’s indicated on the package. The rest of the cooking will be done in the oven later.

20120316-073431.jpg
Dice 2-3 carrots.

20120316-073534.jpg
1 onion and clove of garlic each.

20120316-073620.jpg
A handful of button mushrooms.

20120316-073705.jpg
Add 100g diced ham, 100g grated cheese (I used Gruyère) and mix these with all of the veggies and the Hörnli.

20120316-073828.jpg
For the liquid mix that goes on top scramble 4dl milk and 3dl cream with 4 eggs. Season with salt and pepper.
Pour over the Hörnli and put the casserole in the oven at 180-200 degrees Celsius until it forms a golden crust.

20120316-074520.jpg

20120316-074551.jpg
It tasted lovely! Even though I later realized I forgot to put in the eggs. And this morning I realized, not only did I forget to put in the eggs, I also forgot to publish my blogpost. So here it is, a couple of hours late while I am already mulling over which recipe to do today.I have a suspicion it won’t be macarons…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

