Vitamin Kick

I am visiting my parents this week. When I told them about this blog, my mom handed me the very first cook book I got as a child. The Unicef Children’s cook book. It includes recipes from all over the world and lovely illustrations. It is out of print, I think. When I browsed through it, happy childhood memories of me cooking for my family resurfaced.
I decided to make a childhood favourite of mine, a fruit platter that according to my Unicef cook book is typical for Uganda.

20120227-215300.jpg
The recipe is easy. Just cut up exotic fruit and make a nice fruit salad. I bought one piece of passionfruit:

20120227-215520.jpg
A papaya.

20120227-215635.jpg
A mango:

20120227-215807.jpg
A melon:

20120227-215909.jpg
You are supposed to add a banana but my toddler got his hands on it before me….
Now mix it all together and you get a yummy exotic fruit salad. Add some whipped cream and you can serve it as dessert, add some yoghurt and you get a healthy breakfast.

20120227-220142.jpg

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

