Boiled & roasted marrow bone

Yesterday I started reading the new spine tingling Sean Duffy thriller by Adrian McKinty called The cold cold ground.
While I had time to cook yesterday, I didn’t have time to blog about it because I couldn’t put the book away.
Yesterday’s recipe is an old recipe from my grandmother who often used to cook bone marrow for us when we were children. Today a lot of people buy it for their pets and when you google for bone marrow recipes you get a lot of search results from pet forums.
I always boil the marrow bones with vegetables before roasting them in the oven. Then I put the sucked out bones back in the stock. This way you do not only get delicious marrow bone but also a nice soup on top.
Fo the stock I used carrots, leek, celery root and parsley.

20120219-083212.jpg
Add 1 litre of vegetable stock and the marrow bones.

20120219-083546.jpg
After 20 minutes remove the marrow bones and put them in the oven for 20-30 minutes.

20120219-083748.jpg
They will have oozed a lot of fat when you take them out of the oven. Don’t throw the fat away but pour it into your soup for extra flavour (it is reallyreally worth it).
The marrow bones are ready to eat. I serve them with sea salt (Maldon smoked sea salt works a treat!) and crispy bread.

20120219-084244.jpg
I finished the meal with a nice bowl of soup. Lovely!

20120219-084423.jpg
I know a lot of people don’t like marrow bones. If you do and are in Zürich, these restaurants have marrow bones on their menu:
Markthalle
Schützengasse
Bederhof
And now I’ll go back to “the cold cold ground” hoping to finish before today’s recipe…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

