Asparagus tarte

I know I vowed to use seasonal products for my recipes. Today, however, I broke that rule because I could not resist the green asparagus that were on sale at my local shop.
I adapted a recipe from the January issue of Olive for a squash tarte with blue cheese.
The recipe is very simple:
Roll out your ready bought pie pastry. Layer with 2 tomatoes, a handful of dried tomatoes, small cubes of bacon, asparagus (cut in pieces but leave the tips whole) and Roquefort.

20120216-215518.jpg
It looks like a piece of art. And after 30-40 minutes in the oven at 200 degrees the tarte looks and smells beautiful.

20120216-215732.jpg
The asparagus tarte tastes lovely, too. Next time I will try it with the seasonal squash though.

20120216-220217.jpg

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

