Root vegetable gratin

Today’s recipe is from a website off a topinambur package. I’ve never ate or cooked topinambur and when I saw them in my local shop I just put them in my shopping basket.
At home I was relieved to find a website printed on the package with recipes. Spavetti.ch.
The website recommends cooking the topinambur au gratin. So that’s what I did. But I mixed the topinambur with some root parsley and potatoes.

For this dish (for 2) you need to slice 100g potatoes, root parsley and topinambur each. If you’re wondering, topinambur looks like this:

20120205-204658.jpg

Lay ou the slices in an ovenproof dish. Mix 1 egg and 2dl milk. Season with salt and pepper. Pour the mix over the vegetables. Sprinkle with a savoury hard cheese, I used Gruyère.

20120205-205303.jpg
Bake in the oven at 200 degrees Celsius for approx. 30 minutes.

20120205-205536.jpg
The combination of the sweet root parsley, the neutral tasting potatoe and the very special topinambur taste (which I find impossible to describe) is very tasty and goes well with both meat and fish dishes.

20120205-210142.jpg

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

