Red cabbage quiche

Today a friend suggested that I try making a quiche and her wish is my command. I still had some red cabbage left from yesterday’s recipe so I decided to adapt a recipe for cabbage and caraway quiche that I found on Epicurious a while ago.

Instead of making one big quiche, I made 6 small ones and used half a cabbage (ca. 400g), half an onion which I sweated off in some butter and cook until tender. For the sauce I mixed 1 cup of sour cream with 2 eggs and – instead of the Gruyère that is recommended in the recipe – I used my leftover feta cheese from the Swiss chard wraps and added chunks of it to the cream and egg mix.

20120130-214807.jpg
Then I seasoned it with salt, pepper and some other stuff I found in my kitchen cabinet (mixed herbs for example). Finally, I stirred in 2-3 teaspoons of caraway seeds, added the cabbage and put it all in the (ready bought) pie crusts.

20120130-214948.jpg
I baked them in the oven for approximately 30 minutes at 180°C and they tasted delish! A perfect winter warmer!

20120130-215215.jpg

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

