Makin’ Whoopee!

Okay, let’s forget the summery dress for the wedding in June for a second. At the rearest back of one of my book shelves I found this:

Admit it, you want to have a bite or two instantly! I have forgotten ever buying the book but when it fell into my hands this morning, I remembered that I had been looking for a recipe book for macarons but bought this instead.

Whoopies are quintessentially American to me. The French eat tiny delicate macarons, and Americans make whoopie pies! Not that I believe that bigger is always better but as far as cookies go, if they come in a bigger size and with a delicious filling in the middle I am the last person to complain.

Well, today I made Gingerbread Whoopies. For 9 whoopies (i.e. 18 cookies) you need 150g softened butter that you need to mix with 150g of soft dark brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Whisk until fluffy then add 1 large egg and 2 tablespoons of molasses or black treacle. Then add 350g flour, 2.5 teaspoons baking powder, 1.5 teaspoons of ground ginger and 1 teaspoon of mixed spice. Stir it all together and then add the final ingredient, 1 tablespoon of milk. 

Now, there appears to be a gadget called a whoopie pan. It looks like a muffin tray with shallower moulds. I don’t have a whoopie pan (yet) and therefore I had to scoop tablespoon after tablespoon on a baking tray lined with baking paper, making nice round shapes and leaving enough room between the whoopies for them to spread and rise.

Bake in the oven preheated to 190°C for 10-12 minutes. After taking them out, leave to cool.

The author of the book suggests you fill the whoopies with a lemon buttercream filling. For this you need a dress-killing 175g butter (ouch), 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, 350g icing sugar (ouchouch) and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice.

I’ll definitely be makin’ more whoopies in the future! There are 51 more recipes in that book… But I think I will make mini whoopies next time as they are too big and rich even for my taste.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

