A surprise hit – celery pineapple tartar

I was just invited to a wedding in early June and this is the dress I would like to wear

If I continue along the path of the past blog posts, however, I will look like a hippo in fancy dress. So while I will still do the occasional cake, ice cream or buttery dish, I have to try to stay away from the Far Bretons and creamy ice creams as much as possible.

For today’s recipe I turned to Betty Bossi and their vegetable cookbook once more. I found a recipe that sounded interesting and with only 96 calories per serving seemed ideal for my new course of action. For 4 people you need 2 tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar, 1 tablespoon of honey which you mix and season with salt and pepper. I did not have any white balsamic vinegar and used my lavender vinegar instead.

Finely chop a medium sized pineapple (approx. 800g before skinning and removing the stalk in the middle which should leave you with approx. 500g chopped pineapple) and 300g celery stalks. Chop some of the celery leaves until you get approx. 2 tablespoons of those as well. I added 3 slices of finely chopped ginger because I thought the ginger would complement both the pineapple and celery.

Mix all these with the dressing and put it in the fridge for 30 minutes to soak through. Arrange on a dish et voilà:

The tartar tastes really really nice. The pineapple and celery complement each other very well and the ginger adds a little extra zing. To my great surprise my almost two year old also loved it.

Like my dress this dish is probably best suited for the spring and summer months. I think I will try it again either with some tiger prawns or scallops or a cheese such as Stilton, Roquefort or goat’s cheese. YUMMY!

3 thoughts on “A surprise hit – celery pineapple tartar

  1. Pingback: Makin’ Whoopee! | recipes365

  2. Liebe Claudia
    Abgesehen davon, dass ich mich wirklich wundere, wie Du das alles unter einen Hut kriegst mit Job, Familie, Sport und dann die ganze Kocherei, muss ich Dir sagen, dass mir Dein Blog als Inspirationsquelle dient. Da ich bei uns unter der Woche die einzige bin, die kocht, gehen mir nämlich bisweilen die Ideen aus. Ich habe dieses Gemüsetartar nachgbaut und muss sagen, dass es der Hammer ist. Werde das ins Repertoire aufnehmen. Wenn Du nach neuen Rezepten suchst, schau Dir mal die Webseite von Annemarie Wildeisen an. Ich habe von der heute die Suppe aus zwei Selleries nachgekocht und fand sie super.
    Liebe Grüsse und hoffentlich bis bald
    Barbara

    • Liebe Barbara
      Gell, das Tartar ist echt lecker. Die Webseite von Wildeisen schaue ich mir mal an. Ich bin nicht so Fan von ihr, kenne sie aber nur aus dem Fernseher. Die Sendungen mit ihrer Tochter nerven mich ziemlich.
      Liebe Grüsse & à plus!
      Claudia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

