Digemer Mad e Breizh

Or welcome to Brittany! Today’s recipe helps me to reminisce about the wonderful holidays I spent in Saint Brieuc about 15 years ago. And it reminds me that I always meant to go back there but never did.

Saint Brieuc is on the Côte Emeraude, a lovely stretch of coast in the north of France. A friend and I both had to study for important exams and decided to rent a cottage somewhere where we both had never been before. We ended up in Saint Brieuc. In March. Very much off season. In the mornings we studied and in the afternoons we went exploring. It was one of the best holidays of my life. I would love to show you some of the photos I took there because the scenery is fantastic. But they are all somewhere in a photo book as this was pre digicam era (phew am I old…).

The food in Brittany is lovely, too. Lots of fish and shellfish, lovely cakes, creams, clafoutis, galettes, kouing amann, and my all time favourite: Kir Breton. It is like Kir Royal (champagne and blackcurrant liqueur) but with the local bubbly, cidre.  The cidre you get there is not as sweet as the cider you get in the UK or Ireland (Strongbow, Magners, Bulmers) but is closer to prosecco, cava or champagne and also comes in similar bottles.  

I brought back a couple of recipes from Brittany but today I decided to bake a Far Breton.

I printed out the recipe in 1998 (again I am aging myself…) and the url does not work any more so I decided to post a copy of the recipe.

Mix the flour, cornflour, sugar, salt, vanilla and eggs as instructed and you’ll end up with this:

Add the milk and pour (it is very runny, this is normal) in a greased dish.

Roll the prunes in flour. I always do this because they tell you it stops them from sinking to the bottom of the dish. But in my experience it bloody well doesn’t! I never soak the prunes by the way as I don’t like rum. And nowadays I have a toddler who joins me in trying out (at least most of) my recipes, so alcohol is a no-no (he did not eat any of the Guinness ice cream).

Add prunes to the mix. Sprinkle with cinnamon and butter flakes and off it goes in the oven.

After 45 minutes in the oven at 200°C it should look like this:

I wanted to taste this with a Kir Breton but unfortunately I did not have cidre nor crème de cassis. It tastes just as nice with a cup of tea from my Prince Charles mug, though!

4 thoughts on “Digemer Mad e Breizh

  1. Pingback: A surprise hit – celery pineapple tartar | recipes365

  2. I fell in love with Far Breton while living in Switzerland. In fact, I’ve made two this week and, like yours, my prunes sank to the bottom of the dish. I’ve tried Agen and domestic prunes with and without pits, with the same results.

    Although baking with the pits intact is a dental nightmare waiting to happen (especially when there are toddlers involved), they add a pleasant almondy flavor. Thanks for sharing – can’t wait to try your recipe. Cheers!

  3. Pingback: Redcurrant Clafoutis | recipes365

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

