Birdseed bars (packed with antioxithingies)

This week I have a lot of meetings, plan to do some running after work and need to travel to and from Basel. I was therefore looking for a recipe for a small healthy snack for me to put in my bag and nibble on.

I came across a recipe for muesli bars. I stock fruity bars for my son, and I buy apricot and almond bars from Coop as an emergency snack for long runs so I thought why not try making these bars myself. The recipe I found is from the Betty Bossi magazine (issue 9/08) and appeared in their section of gluten free recipes.

You need 40g pumpkin seeds, 40g sunflower seeds, 40g flax seed, 80g dried fruit such as apple and 100g millet flakes. Cut the pumpkin seeds roughly and the dried fruit finely and mix it all together. You will end up with something that looks like bird seed (and I am sure they would love it!)

Then add 120g honey, 1 packet of vanilla sugar and 1 slightly beaten egg white. Mix and spread on the back of a baking tray using a sheet of baking paper underneath and one on top of the mix.

Bake for approx. 25 minutes at 160°C (preheated oven). After baking, take the tray out of the oven and cut the mix into bars while still hot. When cooled down, pack the birdseed bars into an airtight container. The recipe makes about 16 bars and the recipe says you can keep them for about a week.

And what do they taste like? Well… what I imagine bird seed tastes like mixed with a bit of honey and a touch of vanilla. The good thing is, they must be incredibly healthy. Pumpkin seeds are “nutrition powerhouses“,  sunflower seeds are an “extraordinary source for dietary fibre“, and flax seeds contain “an abundance of micronutrients“. And I’m sure all the other stuff is packed with good fats, nutrients, omega somethings and antioxithingies as well. So tuck in! Or put it in your birdhouse and the sparrows, blue tit, chaffinch and nuthatch will thank you.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

