Ballini – good things come in small packages

This morning I ran 10km and yesterday I cooked veggies. So you won’t be surprised that I decided to go for something sweet today. I have told you before that I like buying stuff from Betty Bossi that then ends up in the cupboard to hibernate for a couple of years.

It’s the same with this gadget. I bought it before my son’s first birthday with the intention of making Ballini for his party. An intention was all it was. But this morning I got out the Ballini pan and the cookbooklet that comes with it to make Ballini for breakfast.

With this pan you can make small ball shaped pancakes with or without a filling. I decided to make one with jam filling (rhubarb and strawberry). For 12 Ballini – besides the Ballini pan – you need the following pancake mix: beat 2 eggwhites with a pinch of salt until stiff. Add 2 teaspoons of sugar. Add 100g flour, half a teaspoon of baking powder, 1dl of milk and 25g liquid butter. Pour the mix into the dents in the pan and add the filling once the mix has hardened a bit.

Fill with the remaining mix and flip the Ballini over.

When the other side is cooked, take out of the pan and sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar.

If you look at the picture closely you will notice that not all Ballini turned out perfect and in one or two the jam seeped out. But for having made them the first time, I am really pleased with myself. If you have to feed a lot of people – kids or adults -, however, making the Ballini could turn out to be a real pain as you can only make 7 at a time. I can’t remember what the pan cost so I can’t tell you whether its worth its money. It’s a nice gadget and the Ballini taste lovely.

3 thoughts on “Ballini – good things come in small packages

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

