Muffins with wings!

Today I am cooking with an ingredient that I myself do not like. Probably inspired by my Guinness and liquorice ventures a friend of mine suggested I make muffins with Red Bull. Yes, Red Bull, the drink that is supposed to give you wings. I know a few people who are addicted to the stuff and drink at least 10 cans a day. I like Irn Bru and Diet Dr. Pepper but never understood the craze for Red Bull as I don’t like the taste and that it just not bubbly enough. That does not stop me trying to make a delicious muffin with it, though. For the recipe I use my tried and tested muffin recipe that is my own mix of different muffin recipes from several muffin or cupcake (don’t ask me what the difference is, in my world there is none) books.

I mix 80g of butter with 125g of sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Then I add 2 eggs and approx. 2dl of liquids. The liquids can vary. You can take buttermilk, cream, double cream, crème fraiche, yoghurt or Red Bull. In order to get a softer creamier muffin, I used 150ml of Red Bull and 50ml of cream.

Then I added the dry ingredients that are: 250g of flour, half a packet of baking powder, a pinch of bicarbonate of soda and a pinch of salt. After the dry and wet ingredients are mixed make sure to quickly put them in the muffin tray (this recipe makes 12) and in the oven (preheated to 180° C). If you leave the batter standing around for too long the baking powder will already start to work and your muffins may lose their fluffyness. Bake for about 15 minutes. Take out to cool.

While the muffins were cooling I made a frosting consisting of approx. 150g powdered sugar, 1-2 tablespoons of Red Bull and 20g of softened butter. Mix well until you get a thick frosting that is easy to spread but not too runny. To mimick the colour of Red Bull I added a little yellow food colouring as well.

Frost the muffins and decorate with some gummy bears or anything else you fancy. Et voilà:

I have to admit that I haven’t tried one myself but carted them off to the office of my friend who inspired me to do Red Bull muffins in the first place. I hear they taste great. And if anyone wants me to try to turn some other unusual ingredient into a muffin just let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

