Triple C – Coca-Cola Chocolate Cake

I did a 10km run this morning on an empty stomach (that’s how I like it best). When I returned with an empty and grumbling stomach I remembered my last posts and ate some cucumber salad (no recipe, just sliced cucumber and some seasoning, olive oil and vinegar). Today’s recipe was supposed to be something with … water and Coca-Cola? No. Vegetables and chocolate? Nonono. Coca-Cola and chocolate… yesyesyes!

So I threw yesterday’s good intentions out of the window and chose a recipe from the most recent addition to my cookbook collection: How to be a domestic goddess by Nigella Lawson. I got it from my Reddit! Secret Santa and have not used any of the recipes in the book. When first browsing through it, the recipe for the Coca-Cola Chocolate Cake instantly caught my attention. From cooking with Guinness it is only a small step to cooking with Coca-Cola. This is just my quirky cup of tea.

For this recipe you need 1 1/3 cups plain flour, 3/4 cup sugar, half a teaspoon of baking powder and a pinch of baking soda (the original recipe only uses baking soda but I think when baking mixing baking powder and soda produces a lighter, fluffier cake) and 2 pinches of salt. Mix these in a bowl. In a separate bowl mix 1 large egg, half a cup of buttermilk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. In a pan melt half a cup of butter and mix with 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder and 3/4 cup Coca-Cola (the regular stuff, there is NO POINT in using the light or zero version as it won’t make any difference at all when it comes to calories).

When melted and mixed, mix with the dry ingredients, then add the egg mixture. What you will get is a very liquid dough. That’s why Nigella recommends lining you cake form. I use disposable cake forms (mine are from Betty Bossi), so I needn’t bother. Bake for approx. 40 minutes in the oven (preheated at 180°C).

While the cake is baking melt 2 tablespoons of butter and mix with 3 tablespoons of coca-cola, 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder and half a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Mix in one and a half cups of confectioner’s sugar until you get a spreadable icing.

Take the cake out of the oven and leave to cool for a little while.

Then spread the icing on top (careful it’s a messy job…).

I was really anxious to try this cake and see whether you can actually taste the Coca-Cola. I think you don’t but it doesn’t matter really. It tastes delicious and the bubbles in the Coca-Cola probably make the cake so fluffy and moist.

In Nigella’s book the recipe is in the chapter with recipes for children. So I tested the cake on the target audience and I think it got the sign of approval. I certainly will bake this cake again, maybe replacing the Coca-Cola with other stuff… Irn-Bru? Dr. Pepper?

One thought on “Triple C – Coca-Cola Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: Juicy Haiku | recipes365

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

