Riz Casimir

Curry sauce with sliced pork or in other words Riz Casimir is on today’s menu. Apparently it is a popular dish in Swiss restaurants and a Swiss invention. You find the recipe here or here.
I started with frying 2 tablespoons flour and 1 tablespoon mild curry powder in some butter.

20120507-211404.jpg

20120507-211420.jpg
I added 2 dl vegetable broth and 2 dl milk, brought it to a boil, seasoned it with salt, pepper and hot curry powder and put it aside.

20120507-211632.jpg
I then browned the sliced pork in a pan and added the sauce and left it to simmer for a while.
Usually you mix diced fruit (pineapple, banana, apples, canned cherries) in the sauce and decorate it with sliced roasted almonds. I did not have almonds and when I was just about to throw the fruit in the sauce my boyfriend said (I quote) “hell no”. So I served the fruit (pineapple and pear) on a side platter.
I served the Casimir with rice (hence Riz Casimir) and the plates emptied in no time!

20120507-212239.jpg

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

